The results of the last five MLS Cup finals

William of England
By William of England 8 Min Read
origin 1

By Braden Chalker

2023 MLS The Cup closing between Columbus Crew and LAFC is getting nearer and soccer followers throughout America are hoping for an action-packed end-to-end conflict.

Over the last five editions of the MLS Cup, we have seen all types of contests, each shut and blowout, with five totally different groups lifting the coveted trophy.

There have been dramatic last-minute matches, penalty kicks and unimaginable, mind-blowing saves from the goalkeepers. The likes of Stefan Frei and Lucas Zelarayan have had performances to recollect in years previous, and we will solely hope that this 12 months’s version of MLS Cup it may be half as a lot enjoyable as last 12 months.

2022 – LAFC 3-3 (3-0) Philadelphia Union

origin 1LAFC received its first MLS Cup title | Rob Ericson/ISI Photos/GettyImages

The newest episode of the MLS Cup is certainly the most chaotic match we have seen shortly.

Kellyn Acosta acquired the sport going with a deflected free kick in the first half, however Philadelphia’s Daniel Gazdag introduced the sport again to evenness with a header in the 59th minute. With lower than 10 minutes left in regular time, the Neroneri thought they’d stolen it at the loss of life after Jesus Murillo discovered the again of the internet with a header.

However, Union defender Jack Elliott discovered the again of the internet at Maxime Crepeau’s close to submit with one other headed aim to equalize simply two minutes later. Regulation wasn’t sufficient to determine a winner, so the groups went to additional time.

This is the place issues began to get even crazier. LAFC goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau was despatched off after denying a scoring alternative to the Union and likewise fracturing his leg. His harm meant that John McCarthy got here into the sport and he proved very important for the Black and Gold.

Philadelphia thought they’d stolen it with one other Elliott aim after a set piece bounced into the penalty space, however super-sub Gareth Bale got here in and scored one other headed aim in the 128th minute to ship the sport to kicks of rigor.

McCarthy prevailed, making two saves in the shootout, with Union lacking each try. LAFCIlie Sanchez headed dwelling his effort to assist his staff win their first ever MLS Cup 3-0 on penalties.

2021 – Portland Timbers 1-1 (4-2) NYCFC

origin 1NYCFC clinched the 2021 MLS Cup | Steph Chambers/GettyImages

The 2021 closing was thrilling, even when it did not stay as much as the similar insanity contained in the 2022 closing.

Valentin ‘Taty’ Castellanos opened the scoring in the forty first minute with a header, placing the Big Apple staff in command at Providence Park. They remained forward for nearly the total match till added time.

PortlandFelipe Mora tied issues after a number of photographs have been blocked in New York’s penalty space, crushing the Blues’ desires of MLS Cup glory for the time being. Neither staff may discover a breakthrough in additional time, that means penalties would determine the winner.

Alfredo Morales was the just one NYCFC participant to overlook his try, whereas Alexander Callens transformed his try to see his staff elevate their first ever MLS Cup.

2020 – Columbus Crew – Seattle Sounders 3-0

origin 1The Columbus Crew received their second MLS Cup in 2020 | Emilee Chinn/GettyImages

Although the circumstances have been somewhat totally different than many would have anticipated earlier than the season, the league’s oldest membership lastly acquired their fingers on the trophy as soon as once more.

Fan favourite Lucas Zelarayan scored the first aim of the match in the twenty fifth minute after a volley previous Stefan Frei. Frei had already made a pair of sensational saves throughout the match, however he ought to have achieved higher.

Six minutes later, Derrick Etienne put the Crew up 2-0 with a quiet end they usually principally had one hand on the MLS Cup as halftime approached. Despite Seattle Dominating with 65% of ball possession and having lots of possibilities to get again into the sport, the Crew have been destined to win the title.

Zelarayan added his second of the sport with a ravishing left-footed shot simply outdoors the penalty space to seal Columbus’ second MLS Cup championship. Now, the staff hopes the likes of Diego Rossi and Cucho Hernandez can replicate that efficiency in the 2023 closing in opposition to LAFC.

2019 – Seattle Sounders – Toronto FC 3-1

origin 1Seattle beat Toronto to win in 2019 | Abbie Parr/GettyImages

The Sounders acquired their fingers on the MLS Cup for the second time in staff historical past in entrance of their followers at Lumen Field in opposition to Toronto FC in emphatic vogue.

Kelvin Leerdam’s shot that was going huge of the aim was inaugurated by a median of TFC defender, giving the hosts a 1-0 lead early in the second half. About 20 minutes later Victor Rodriguez added a second for Seattle with a right-footed shot previous Toronto’s Quentin Westberg. Seattle was so near successful the MLS Cup once more and simply wanted to hold on somewhat longer.

Luckily for the Western Conference staff, Raul Ruidiaz killed the sport by scoring a one-on-one likelihood in opposition to Westberg, sending Seattle followers right into a frenzy. TFC’s Jozy Altidore pulled one again in stoppage time, but it surely was too little too late for the Canadian membership.

2018 – Atlanta United – Portland Timbers 2-0

origin 1Atlanta received the MLS Cup in its second season | Kevin C. Cox/GettyImages

The Five Stripes have set a particularly excessive bar for enlargement groups in simply their second season as an MLS membership.

Club legend Josef Martinez discovered the again of the internet inside half-hour after pouncing on a unfastened go from midfield and rounding Portland goalkeeper Jeff Attinella. It was a aim that followers at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium have been used to seeing in 2018, and their quantity 7 achieved it on the largest stage as soon as once more.

Martinez wasn’t completed contributing for his staff, heading Miguel Almiron’s free-kick which full-back Franco Escobar met to place Atlanta 2-0 with round 40 minutes to go. Escobar’s far submit was sufficient for Gerardo ‘Tata’ Martino’s facet to win the MLS Cup for the first time, and after that snug victory they struggled to get again to that time of success.

Sign up now for MLS Season Pass on Apple TV to look at all the motion from the 2023 Major League Soccer season. Click here to subscribe!


This article was initially printed on as The results of the last five MLS Cup finals.

Share This Article
Leave a comment