The government has already invited the recent Nobel laureate to become a member of the KKT

By RockedBuzz 3 Min Read

Minister János Csák invited Professor Ferenc Krausz to the board, according to the ministry’s announcement, in which it is written: the government’s goal is to support Hungarian creativity and innovation, thereby contributing to the growth of the Hungarian economy.

The new National Science Policy Council was established in May with 12 members as the government’s strategic advisory board on science policy and innovation issues. This was followed in July by the establishment of the nine-member governing body of the Hungarian Research Network (HUN-REN), whose main task is to develop the research institute network and place it on the international scene. Now, the Research Excellence Council has been established in order to distribute research resources efficiently, thereby completing the management system of Hungarian science policy.

Another task of the council will be to develop a system of excellence-based research grants, so that an attractive and predictable career path for researchers is created in Hungary, which focuses on international-level performance. The ministry emphasized that both the HUN-REN Steering Board and the members of the Research Excellence Council were appointed by Minister János Csák in consultation with the President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Tamás Freund.

Among the members of the seven-member board are social scientist Petra Aczél, István Greiner, research and development director of Richter Nyrt., plant biologist Éva Kondorosi, Nobel Prize-winning physicist Ferenc Krausz, biochemist András Perczel, mathematician Gergely Röst and specialist in the field of technical sciences Stépán Gábor. The Research Excellence Council will be the primary custodian of the uniform, excellence-based researcher career model also proposed by Professor Ferenc Krausz.

According to the KIM announcement, the government’s goal is for Hungary to be among the top 25 innovative countries in the world and among the top 10 innovative countries in Europe by 2030, and to increase the current number of six thousand researchers to nine thousand by the end of the decade.

Front page photo: Ferenc Krausz, Hungarian Nobel Prize-winning physicist living in Germany, director of the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, in the studio of Kossuth radio, where he gave an interview to the program Vasárnapi xuzjaz at the MTVA Kunigunda útjai headquarters on October 6, 2023. Scientist Pierre Agostini, a Frenchman who teaches in the United States, and Anne L’Huillier, also a French physicist working in Sweden, will receive this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics. Source: MTI Photo/Zoltán Balogh.

Share This Article
Leave a comment